Yvonne Jones, who resigned as Liberal leader in August, will return to the house of assembly as one of Labrador's four MHAs. The Liberals and PCs each took two seats in the region as cabinet minister Patty Pottle went down to defeat.

Jones, who was diagnosed with breast cancer in July 2010, stepped down as leader to recover from treatment but did not give up her seat.

She was named the party's interim leader in November 2007, taking the job on a full-time basis 14 months ago.

Her win in the Cartwright-L'Anse Au Clair district wasn't close; Jones took more than 71 per cent of the vote.

Cabinet minister loses to Liberal

The Liberal gain in the region came at the expense of Aboriginal Affairs Minister Patty Pottle, who was defeated in Torngat Mountains. Randy Edmunds took the district by 8.4 per cent of the vote.

The Tories, meanwhile, held the seats of two retiring incumbents

PC Keith Russell won by more than 15 per cent of the vote in Lake Melville, claiming the district of retiring Labrador Affairs Minister John Hickey.

Nick McGrath took the Labrador West district held by Jim Baker by a similar margin.