Former Liberal MP Siobhan Coady was acclaimed as the Liberal candidate for the district of St. John's West on Wednesday.

Coady was the only candidate to enter nomination papers for the district ahead of the next provincial election.

She served as MP for the riding of St. John's South-Mount Pearl in the House of Commons between 2008 and 2011.

Progressive Conservative Dan Crummell is the current MHA for St. John's West.

In the district of Kilbride, the Liberal Party said a nomination meeting will be held to determine which one of two candidates will win the nomination.

Jeff Marshall and Joe Wadden both submitted papers at the close of nominations on Monday.

The party will hold a nomination meeting on June 30 to decide on a candidate.

The Liberals also put out the call for nominations for candidates in the St. George's-Stephenville East district.

Nominations opened at 12 p.m. on Wednesday, and are set to close at noon on June 30.

Earlier in June, Joan Shea stepped down as the Tory MHA for the district. A date for the byelection has yet to be announced.