Shanneyganock, which mixes powerful Newfoundland ballads with thumping and often-patriotic traditional tunes, emerged as the big winner Sunday night at this year's MusicNL awards.

The band won four awards during the evening,including group of the year, entertainer of the year and in the folk-roots category. Its album Fling Out the Flag tied with The Cormiers for album of the year.

The awards were presented at a St. John's gala that concluded the annual meeting of MusicNL,previously known as the Music Industry Association of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Cormiers also won song of the year for Miracle of Christmas.

Double winners included Mary Barry and Chris LeDrew. Barry won best female artist and the annual jazz and blues award, while LeDrew won as male artist and country artist.

David Chafe won the gospel award, while his duet album with Christopher Bowman claimed the classical category.

St. John's singer Dana Parsons won the CBC Galaxie Rising Star award, which recognizes up-and-coming talent.

Other winners included Blair Harvey for the pop-rock award, Gordon Quinton for instrumental artist and pianist Brian Way as side musician of the year. The Kremlin was named alternative group of the year.

The evening included a moving tribute to Dermot O'Reilly, the Ryan's Fancy co-founder and songwriter who died in February. Premier Danny Williams presented a lifetime achievement award to O'Reilly's family.