PM appoints N.L.'s Elizabeth Marshall to senate

Newfoundland and Labrador MHA Elizabeth Marshall has been appointed to the Canadian Senate.

Newfoundland and Labrador MHA Elizabeth Marshall has been appointed to the Canadian Senate.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper filled five senate vacancies Friday.

The incoming Senators fill single vacancies in Quebec, Newfoundland and Labrador, and New Brunswick, as well as two vacancies in Ontario.

The new senators are  Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu, of Quebec, Bob Runciman, of Ontario, Vim Kochhar, of Ontario, Elizabeth Marshall and Rose-May Poirier, of New Brunswick.

Marshall was the Auditor General of Newfoundland and Labrador for 10 years prior to her election as a member of the house of assembly in 2003. 

She represents the district of Topsail, near St. John's. 

Marshall was Newfoundland and Labrador's health minister until she quit the province's cabinet in Sept. 2004, saying she disagreed with Premier Danny Williams's management style.

At the time, Marshall said Williams made decisions involving her department without consulting or notifying her.

Williams decided to provide more money to end a Victorian Order of Nurses strike in Corner Brook, western Newfoundland, without consulting her.