The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador nominations are now being accepted by the provincial government.

It is the highest honour bestowed by the province, recognizing individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour.

Since 2004, there have been seven investitures, with 61 people receiving the honour.

Past recipients include Dr. Nigel Rusted, Paul O'Neill, Captain Sid Hynes and Lanier Phillips.

Nominations will be accepted until Jan. 31, and any person or group can nominate an individual.

Further information, as well as a nomination form, can be obtained on the provincial government website.