The achievements of Newfoundland and Labrador visual artists were recognized on Friday night at the 8th annual Excellence in Visual Arts Awards (EVA).

Five awards were presented at a ceremony at The Rooms.

Audrey Hurd was given the Emerging Artist Award, which honours the promising start made by an emerging visual artist in the early stages of their career.

Colette Urban won the Long Haul Award. It recognizes a substantial contribution to the visual culture of Newfoundland and Labrador by a senior artist.

The Large Year Award was given to Michael Flaherty, in honour of a visual artist who has had an exceptional year with artistic growth; at least one exhibition and critical recognition.

Heather Igloliorte was presented with the Critical Eye Award, which recognizes the impact that critical art writing can have on a visual artists' career.

Named for the small pieces of wood one would throw on a fire to 'keep it going,' the Kippy Goins Award thanks an individual or organization whose efforts have helped to sustain and build the visual arts sector. Tina Dolter was the winner. 

The Eva Awards are a program of Visual Artists Newfoundland and Labrador (VANL).