Five men and three women are the latest inductees into the Newfoundland and Labrador Volunteer Hall of Fame.

Names of the new inductees were announced on Wednesday at a reception in St. John's.

Frank Berkshire of Doyles, Cecilia Carroll of Torbay, Geoff Eaton and William Mahoney of St. John's, Bridget Leyte of Fogo Island, Thomas Maddox of King's Cove, Rita Pennell of Trepassey and Bruce Templeton of Outer Cove will be formally inducted in October.

Chair Edward Roberts said this year's inductees have made outstanding contributions to the province.

"The Newfoundland and Labrador Volunteer Hall of Fame allows exceptional people to stand as an inspiration to our community, and particularly to our youth," said Roberts. 

The hall of fame was created in 2012 to honour life-long achievements of volunteers.

The eight individuals will be honoured at a gala dinner on Oct. 3 at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John's.