N.L. premier shuffles cabinet

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Danny Williams has shuffled his government's cabinet.

Newfoundland and Labrador Premier Danny Williams shuffled his government's cabinet Wednesday.

Jerome Kennedy is the province's new health minister. Tom Marshall is now the finance minister and Felix Collins is the new justice minister.

Dianne Whelan is the province's acting transportation minister.

On Wednesday morning, Health Minister Paul Oram resigned from cabinet and politics, citing personal health issues.

"Specifically in the last little while some huge blood pressure issues that my doctor had advised me on the weekend that if I don't get this under control, I will probably be using one of my facilities," said Oram.

He also said he believes has been unfair media coverage of his handling of the health portfolio.

Oram says he made this decision Monday and told Williams that night.

Oram is the second cabinet minister to leave provincial politics in two weeks.

Trevor Taylor resigned as transportation minister on Sept. 24. He too cited personal reasons.

Taylor represented Straits-White Bay North district in the house of assembly. A byelection will be held Oct. 27 to replace him.

Oram represents the district of Terra Nova.

A byelection hasn't been called to replace him yet.

The House of Assembly Act was modified in 2004 to ensure that byelections are announced within 60 days of a district becoming vacant and conducted within 90 days of the vacancy.