Memorial University will recognize six people with honorary degrees during spring convocation ceremonies next month.

shannie duff-20140410

Former St. John's municipal politician and heritage activist Shannie Duff. (Courtesy Memorial University)

Recipients will include Autism Society founding member Joyce Hayward Churchill; heritage advocate and longtime municipal politician Shannie Duff; author and CBC broadcaster Michael Enright; former Grenfell Mission intern and geriatric medicine leader John Gray; social justice leader and community volunteer Jocelyn Greene; and businesswoman, philanthropist and non-denominational school system activist Kathy Pratt LeGrow.

The six will be awarded their honorary doctorates during convocation ceremonies at the Pepsi Centre in Corner Brook on May 9, and at the St. John's Arts and Culture Centre from May 27-30.

They'll join hundreds of other new graduates as they cross the stage to receive their diplomas.

michael enright-20140410

Author and CBC broadcaster Michael Enright. (Courtesy Memorial University)

​Enright will be awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree during the Corner Brook session on May 9.

Duff and Greene will receive their doctor of laws degrees on May 27, while LeGrow will be recognized on May 28.

Gray will receive an honorary doctor of science degree on May 29, while Churchill will receive the doctor of laws degree on May 30.