Yvonne Jones is the leader of Newfoundland and Labrador's Liberal Party. ((CBC))

Current provincial Liberal Party Leader Yvonne Jones will continue to head the party after its next convention.

The party announced Friday that Jones, the MHA for Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair, Labrador, will be acclaimed leader at its convention and annual general meeting in St. John's being held Nov. 19 to 21.

Convention co-chairs Jody Fancey and Mark Watton closed nominations at 5 p.m. Friday, in accordance with the 2010 leadership convention rules of procedure.

"At the end of the nomination period, we have received one completed nomination which meets the criteria. Having received no further nominations at the deadline, Ms. Jones will be acclaimed as party leader at the November convention," Watton said in a news release.