Danny Dumaresque's bid to win the Liberal nomination in Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair came up short on Thursday night, losing to MHA Lisa Dempster by 296 votes.

The final tally gave Dempster 738 votes, while Dumaresque received 442.

Almost 1,200 people cast votes.

Dumaresque was the MHA for the district of Eagle River before it was redrawn and renamed Cartwright-L'Anse au Clair, prior to the 1996 general election. Yvonne Jones, who had represented the district from 1996 to 2013, resigned from her seat to run in federal politics. 

Dempster won the provincial district seat in June 2013. 

Dumaresque has had a long association with the provincial Liberal party. In 2001, he was John Efford’s campaign manager in that year's Liberal leadership race. Efford narrowly lost to Roger Grimes. Dumaresque served as Liberal party president from 2006 to 2009; and he ran unsuccessfully for MHA in both the 2007 and 2011 general elections.

In 2013, Dumaresque made an unsuccessful run at the the party's leadership