The Eastlink CeeBee Stars opened the 2013 Herder Memorial Championship with a victory, edging out the Clarenville Caribous 4-3 on Saturday night at the Clarenville Events Centre.

Brad Slaney scored the winning goal late in the third period on his second goal of the game.

After a scoreless first period, the Cee Bees were first to strike five minutes in the second period on the power play, on a goal by Chris Hulit assisted by Doug O’Brien and Slaney.

However, the Caribous responded after Cee Bees defensemen Nick Theriault was ejected from the game for a check from behind, with two quick power play goals one minute apart. Brandon Roche scored from Blake Gallagher and Dale Sullivan followed by Steve Yetman from Brad Crann.

Ryan Delaney of the Cee Bees tied the game on another power play goal close to mid-way in the third on a from Chris Sparkes; Yetman pulled the Caribous ahead once again on the games fifth power play goal two minutes later, with assist from Sullivan and Andrew Sweetland.

Slaney finished the game with his two goals late in third. His first was at 13:47 with an assist to Jordan Escott, and his game winner at 16:34 with O’Brien and Escott drawing assist.

Mark Yetman was the winning goaltender for the CeeBees, while Jason Churchill took the loss for the Caribous.

Game two of the tournament is scheduled for 2 p.m. on Sunday at the Clarenville rink.

The series will then move to the S.W. Moores Memorial Stadium in Harbour Grace next weekend.