The Liberal party executive chose former cabinet minister Kevin Aylward over six other candidates on Sunday night after hearing each of them explain why he would make the best leader.

Last week's sudden resignation by former leader Yvonne Jones for health reasons left the party with no time to hold a convention.

Nominations for leader closed at noon on Friday, setting the stage for Sunday's announcement.

The other six candidates seeking the leadership were Brad Cabana, Danny Dumaresque, Rodney Martin, Ryan Lane, Bern Coffey, and Charles Murphy.