A current and former justice minister were among the lawyers promoted to Queen's Counsel in a ceremony at the Newfoundland and Labrador Supreme Court Friday.

Andrew Parsons and Felix Collins were among a group of 11 lawyers promoted to the front benches of court.

Parsons, who sits in the legislature as the Liberal member for Burgeo-La Poile has been minister of justice in Dwight Ball's cabinet since 2015.

Collins served as the Progressive Conservative MHA for Placentia-St. Mary's and was minister of justice from 2009 to 2012.

11 lawyers named to Queen's Counsel Friday

The newly named Queen's Counsel include 11 lawyers who took their place on the front bench of Supreme Court. (Mark Cumby/CBC)

To qualify to be a Queen's Counsel, a lawyer must have at least 10 years experience. The designation is largely about status.  A Q.C. lawyer also gets to wear a special silk robe and generally gets to charge higher fees, in addition to the privilege of sitting in the front row of a courtroom.

The other lawyers named Friday included Neil Jacobs, Stephen May, Deborah Hutchings, Peter O'Flaherty, Darlene Russell, Kari Ann Pike, Judy Morrow, Jennifer Mercer and Janie Bussey.