Hugh John (Ted) Flemming III will hold onto the Rothesay riding for the Progressive Conservatives.

The Progressive Conservatives will hold the southern riding of Rothesay after Hugh John (Ted) Flemming III withstood a tough challenge Monday night from the Liberals and NDP Leader Dominic Cardy.

The Progressive Conservatives had 1,625 votes followed by Liberal candidate John Wilcox with 1,328, Cardy with 1,158, the Green Party's Sharon Murphy with 69 votes and independent candidate Marjorie MacMurray with 62 votes.

Flemming jumped out to a quick lead and never trailed as the votes rolled in.

Wilcox and Cardy went back and forth throughout the count in the race for second place.

Rothesay voters went to the polls on Monday to elect a new MLA after former energy minister Margaret-Ann Blaney resigned to become the president of Efficiency New Brunswick.


NDP Leader Dominic Cardy's party has not won a seat in the legislature since 2005. (Daniel McHardie/CBC)

Flemming was trying to hold onto the seat but faced a stiff challenge by provincial New Democratic Party Leader Dominic Cardy.

The Liberals held the riding between 1987 and 1999 and came within 100 votes of winning the riding in 2006.

Since 1974, the Progressive Conservatives have held the riding for 26 years compared to 12 years for the Liberals.

There were 9,381 voters on the preliminary voting list. After two days of advance voting, 846 people cast their ballots.

Flemming's win means the Tories will regain the 42 seats they held after the 2010 election.

Cardy's loss means the NDP will still be without a seat in the legislative assembly. The NDP have been without a seat since 2005, when former leader Elizabeth Weir resigned to become president of Efficiency New Brunswick.