Saint John voters head to polls in Ward 3 byelection

Eight candidates are on the ballot in today's byelection to elect a new councillor in Saint John's Ward 3.

Polls will be open between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Saint John voters are voting in the Ward 3 byelection on Monday to replace disgraced former city councillor Donnie Snook.

There are eight candidates vying for the second council position in the city’s largest ward.

The ward covers the southern peninsula, Saint John's lower west side, part of the north end and much of the east side.

The candidates include:

  • Brian Boyd
  • Barbara Ellemberg
  • Michelle Hooton
  • Allen Leslie
  • Gerry Lowe
  • Anne-Marie Mullin
  • Mark LeBlanc
  • Graeme Stewart-Robertson

The byelection’s polls open at 10 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.

The voter turnout in the 2012 municipal election in Saint John was 45 per cent. It took roughly 1,900 votes to win one of two Ward 3 seats in the 2012 municipal election.

The byelection became necessary when Snook resigned his seat in January after being charged with three counts of touching a child for a sexual purpose, one count of making child pornography, two counts of distributing child pornography and two counts of possession.