Lord Beaverbrook (1879 - 1964) was honoured posthumously with the Order of New Brunswick Monday. (The Beaverbrook Foundation)

Ten people were named to the Order of New Brunswick Monday. The new members were announced by Premier David Alward as part of New Brunswick Day celebrations held in Quispamsis.

The recipients included William Maxwell Aitken, better known as Lord Beaverbrook, who was given the order posthumously.

The Fleet Street press baron, who was raised in Newcastle, is renowned as one of New Brunswick's most generous benefactors — he established many buildings and institutions in the province, including Lady Beaverbrook Arena, the Beaverbrook Art Gallery and its world-class art collection, as well as the Playhouse Theatre, Aitken House and the Aitken University Centre.

He also set up scholarships for the University of New Brunswick and donated many pieces of art from his personal collection to the gallery in Fredericton.

Recipients of the 2011 Order of New Brunswick

Max Aitken, Lord Beaverbrook (posthumous)

Marjorie (Mardi) Cockburn, Fredericton

Patrick Darrah, Saint John

Robert Frenette, Woodstock

Dr. Satya Paul Handa, Rothesay

Jacques LaForge, Saint-André

Gilmond Larocque, Lamèque

Léo-Paul Pinet, Bertrand

Jessica Ryan, Bathurst

Donald Savoie, Moncton

Established in 2000, the Order of New Brunswick is the highest honour bestowed by the province.

The award recognizes individual New Brunswickers who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field and who have made outstanding contributions to the social, cultural or economic well-being of New Brunswick and its residents.

"Today's recipients provide all of us ... with shining examples of what can be achieved here with vision, perseverance and an innovative spirit," said Alward in a news release.

"They offer glimpses into our province's storied past and our vast potential. I am proud to welcome them to the Order of New Brunswick."

The recipients will be invested into the order at a ceremony to be held at Government House in Fredericton on Oct.  27.