Bev Harrison won election as an MLA in six elections dating back to 1978.

A member of the legislature who has served in Progressive Conservative governments under three different premiers dating back to 1978 is bowing out of politics.

Bev Harrison announced on Friday he will not seek the party's nomination to run in the Hampton riding in September's provincial election.

Harrison was first elected in 1978 as a member of Richard Hatfield's government in the riding of Saint John-Fundy and he was re-elected in 1982.

In 1999, he was re-elected in the newly-named Hampton-Belleisle riding when Bernard Lord brought the Progressive Conservatives back to power after a 12-year hiatus and served two terms as Speaker of the legislature.

Harrison held onto his seat in 2006 when the Liberals took power once again and he was re-elected in 2010 when the Tories assumed power once again under David Alward.

"I have had the honour of serving as speaker of the Legislative Assembly for two terms, which has enhanced my love of and respect for parliamentary democracy," said Harrison.

"I have served as a minister, government house leader, opposition house leader and government caucus chair during my time as a member of the legislature," said Harrison in a statement.

"Having retired from a teaching career after 32 years working with young adults, 25 years in the Air Cadet movement, and my time as an MLA, I have added service to helping others half way around the world. As Gandhi said "The best way to find yourself, is to lose yourself in the service of others."

Harrison also had a key role in a controversial period in the history of the Progressive Conservative party.

In 1985, Harrison was one of three Tory MLAs who publicly supported efforts to hold a review of Hatfield's leadership.

The review motion was voted down at a party convention.

The Progressive Conservative Party's nomination convention in the Hampton riding is scheduled for May 20.