Premier David Alward named the six members of the province's new electoral boundaries commission on Tuesday. (Jacques Poitras/CBC)

Premier David Alward has named the six people who will be in charge of reducing the number ridings in the province to 49 from 55.

Annise Hollies, a former chief electoral officer, and Allan Maher, a former Liberal finance minister, will be the co-chairs of the Electoral Boundaries and Representation Commission.

The Alward government announced plans to drop the number of MLAs across the province to 49 during last November’s throne speech.

The commission will send its final report to the legislature and the changes will be in place by the 2014 provincial election.

"I am confident they will propose electoral districts that will reflect our changing province and our shared commitment to equal and effective representation," Alward said in a statement.

"I encourage New Brunswickers to assist the commission in its work by making representations and providing input."

The four other members of the commission include:

  • Conde Grondin, retired university professor
  • Sue Murray, executive director of the Atlantic Provinces Medical Peer Review program
  • Jean-Guy Rioux, former president of the Congrès mondial acadien in 2009
  • James Stanley, lawyer

The province’s ridings were last redrawn in 2005.