8 seek Donnie Snook's seat on Saint John council

Eight people will seek the seat of former Saint John councillor Donnie Snook in next month's byelection, according to Elections New Brunswick's unofficial list of candidates.

Eight people will seek the seat of former Saint John councillor Donnie Snook in next month's byelection, according to Elections New Brunswick's unofficial list of candidates.

One of them is no stranger to municipal politics and at least two of them have put their names forward before.

Former deputy mayor and mayoralty candidate Michelle Hooton is among those who registered as a Ward 3 candidate by the 2 p.m. deadline on Friday.

Former business owner Anne-Marie Mullin, who ran unsuccessfully in the 2010 Ward 3 byelection and as a councillor-at-large in 2008; and liquor enforcement officer Mark LeBlanc, who was also unsuccessful in his bid for an at-large seat in 2008 and Ward 4 seat last year, plan to take another run at municipal politics.

The other candidates include: retail manager Brian Boyd, child care worker Barbara Ellemberg, chef Allen Leslie, former Vet's Taxi owner Gerry Lowe, and environmentalist Graeme Stewart-Robertson.

The winning candidate will represent Snook's former ward, which covers the southern peninsula, lower west side, part of the north end and much of the east side.

Snook, 41, resigned his seat in January after being charged with three counts of touching a child for a sexual purpose, one count of making child pornography, two counts of distributing child pornography and two counts of possession.

More charges are expected against the suspended youth ministry leader, the Crown has said.

Snook, who has been in custody since his Jan. 9 arrest, has not yet entered any pleas. He is scheduled to return to court on May 29.

The byelection will be held on May 13.

Other byelections

Byelections will also be held that day in:

  • Campobello Island, where Peggy Flynn and Blair Tinker will both run for councillor in Ward 2.
  • Cap-Pelé, where Gérard Joseph Landry and Robert (Bobby) Vautour hope to become a councillor-at-large.
  • Oromocto, where Shelley Comeau and James Strohm have registered for a Ward 2 councillor seat.
  • Saint-André, where Denis Lavoie and Gilles Joseph Paradis will vie for the councillor position in Ward 4.

Candidates have been elected by acclamation in the following communities:

  • Charlo (Mayor Denis McIntyre)
  • Memramcook (Ward 5 Coun. Rolando Cormier)
  • Saint-Antoine ( Councillor-at-large Renée-Claude Melanson)
  • Sainte-Anne-de-Madawaska (Councillor-at-large Gérald Dubé)

No candidates filed nomination papers for vacancies in the following communities:

  • Baker Brook (two councillors-at-large)
  • Bertrand (one councillor-at-large)
  • Charlo (one councillor-at-large)
  • Saint-François-de-Madawaska (one councillor-at-large)

Candidates have until April 22 at 5 p.m. to withdraw their name.