Russell Copeman wins NDG mayoral race

Former Liberal MNA Russell Copeman, who ran under Marcel Côté's banner, emerged victorious in the Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce mayoral race.

Luc Ferrandez bests competition in Plateau-Mont-Royal

With the majority of polls reporting, former MNA Russell Copeman is expected to emerge victorious in the Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce mayoral race. (Russell Copeman)

Former Liberal MNA Russell Copeman, who ran under Marcel Côté's banner, emerged victorious in the Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce mayoral race.

Copeman led with 29.5 per cent of the vote, trailed by Projet Montréal's Michael Simkin.

The borough was left without a permanent borough mayor when Michael Applebaum left to become interim mayor of the greater city. Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce found itself without an incumbent for the borough's top job this election. Interim borough mayor Lionel Perez, elected by acclamation in November 2012, decided to defend his city council seat rather than seek the job on a permanent basis.  


Incumbent mayoral candidate Luc Ferrandez won the Plateau-Mont-Royal borough with 51.8 per cent of the vote.

This is the second term for Ferrandez, who swept to the mayor's seat in 2009 when Projet Montréal surged through the Plateau. 

Projet Montréal's Luc Ferrandez is expected to win a second term as Plateau mayor. (CBC)

But Ferrandez wasn't given a free pass this election and the key loss of councillor Piper Huggins to the Coalition side meant the party had one less incumbent to count on.

Coalition Montreal ran actress Danièle Lorain in the borough mayoral race and management consultant Gilbert Thibodeau represented Denis Coderre's team. Independent candidate Martin Boyer was also on the ballot.


​As of 1 a.m., the race for Montreal's Sud-Ouest mayor was still too close to call. With 85.3 per cent of polls reported, Projet Montréal's Jason Prince was neck-in-neck with Marcel Côté's Benoit Dorais, each with 27 per cent of the vote.


Claude Dauphin will return as Lachine's mayor with 54.1 per cent of the votes.

Dauphin ran without competition from the teams of Denis Coderre, Marcel Côté and Mélanie Joly. Three out of the four main Montreal mayoral candidates opted to pull out of the Lachine race after Dauphin was elected the head of the Canadian federation of municipalities by hundreds of mayors across the country. 


Borough mayor since 2007, Marie Cinq-Mars will return for another term in Outremont. 

Cinq-Mars opted to form her own party after the dissolution of Union Montréal. Running under the "Conservon Outremont" party, Cinq-Mars, a former teacher, was trailed by by architect Étienne Coutu.

Borough mayoral results

Ahuntsic-Cartierville: Pierre Gagnier (Équipe Denis Coderre).
Anjou: Luis Miranda.
Côte-des-Neiges–Notre-Dame-de-Grâce: Russell Copeman (Coalition Montréal).
Lachine: Claude Dauphin.
LaSalle: Manon Barbe.
Plateau-Mont-Royal: Luc Ferrandez (Projet Montréal).
Sud-Ouest: *Too close to call. 
L’Île-Bizard–Sainte-Geneviève: Normand Marinacci (Mélanie Joly).
Mercier–Hochelaga-Maisonneuve: Réal Ménard (Coalition Montréal). 
Montréal-Nord: Gilles Deguire (Équipe Denis Coderre).
Outremont: Marie Cinq-Mars.
Pierrefonds-Roxboro: Dimitrios Beis (Équipe Denis Coderre). 
Rivière-des-Prairies–Pointe-aux-Trembles: Chantal Rouleau (Équipe Denis Coderre).
Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie: François Croteau (Projet Montréal).
Saint-Laurent: Alan DeSousa (Équipe Denis Coderre). 
Saint-Léonard: Michel Bissonnet (Équipe Denis Coderre). 
Verdun: Jean-François Parenteau (Équipe Denis Coderre).
Ville-Marie: Denis Coderre. 
Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension: Anie Samson (Équipe Denis Coderre).


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.