The Liberals have dented the Parti Québécois's hold on the four ridings in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region.

Liberal Daniel Bernard has won back the riding of Rouyn-Noranda-Témiscamingue, which he lost in 2007, defeating PQ incumbent Johanne Morasse.

In Abitibi-Est, the Liberals won a tight race with the PQ. Liberal Pierre Corbeil defeated the PQ's Alexis Wawanoloath by less than two per cent of the vote.

The PQ's François Gendron, the national assembly's Speaker, easily held Abitibi-Ouest with more than 57 per cent of the vote.

Also in Ungava, the PQ's Luc Ferland won re-election earning more than 47 per cent of the vote.