Quebec Liberal Party Leader Philippe Couillard will be back in the national assembly when it resumes next year.

He won easily in the riding of Outremont — when 124 polls out of 132 were counted, Couillard had about 55 per cent of the popular vote.

His opponent Édith Laperle of Québec Solidaire was trailing at 32 per cent.

As is often tradition, the Parti Québécois and the Coalition Avenir Québec did not run candidates against him.

In the Liberal stronghold of Viau, Liberal candidate David Heurtel won with almost 60 per cent of the vote.

The seat was vacated by Liberal MNA Emmanuel Dubourg ​— who recently ran and won in the riding of Bourassa.

Heurtel was a longtime PQ supporter, but he disagreed so strongly with the PQ's secular charter that he changed allegiances.

The PQ’s candidate, Tania Longpré, came in second with just less than 15 per cent support.

Québec Solidaire’s Geneviève Fortier-Moreau finished third while the CAQ's candidate Jamilla Leboeuf came in fifth.

With the Liberals picking up the two seats, the national assembly returns to the same breakdown it had after the general election in 2012: 54 for the PQ, 50 for the Liberals, and 18 for the CAQ.