The status quo prevailed on the Island of Montreal on Monday night, with virtually no change in the city's provincial political alignments except for a breakthrough win by Québec Solidaire.

The Liberals elected 20 members, while the Parti Québécois held on to seven seats on the island.

But the PQ gave up its seat in the riding of Mercier to Québec Solidaire, with physician Amir Khadir beating incumbent Daniel Turp with 38 per cent of the popular vote to Turp's 34 per cent.

It's the first seat in the provincial legislature for QS, a sovereigntist, left-leaning party.

In Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, political neophyte Kathleen Weil cruised to victory, replacing outgoing MNA Russell Copeman, who retired from politics earlier this year.

Former PQ cabinet minister Louise Beaudoin is returning to the Quebec national assembly after several years in academia. She easily won the riding of Rosemont.

In Crémazie, Lisette Lapointe was re-elected for the Parti Québécois. Lapointe is the wife of former PQ premier Jacques Parizeau.

Filomena Rotiroti sailed to victory in the Jeanne-Mance–Viger riding, replacing Michel Bissonnet, the outgoing Speaker of the Quebec legislature, who resigned from provincial politics to become Saint-Leonard's borough mayor.

Former Green Party leader Scott McKay, now under the PQ banner, won his first provincial election, in the riding of l'Assomption.

QS co-leader Françoise David failed to win a seat in Gouin, coming second to PQ incumbent Nicolas Girard.