The CBC Massey Lectures in Montreal

CBC Radio presents: The 2017 CBC Massey Lectures with Payam Akhavan. Tickets available now for Payam's lecture "In Search of a Better World: The Pursuit of Global Justice

Touring lecture series hits Centaur Theatre on September 19.

Payam Akhavan. Photo by Peter Bregg CM

Mark your calendars: The Massey Lectures are coming to Montreal.

The five-part lecture series starts its cross-Canada tour in mid-September and stops in Montreal on September 19, 2017.

The 2017 lecturer is renowned UN prosecutor and human rights scholar Payam Akhavan. Akhavan is a Professor of International Law at McGill University in Montreal, Canada, a Member of the International Court of Arbitration, and a former UN prosecutor at The Hague.

CBC Daybreak's Mike Finnerty will host the event.

Payam Akhavan: In Search of a Better World

When: Tuesday, September 19 at 7 p.m. - Lecture 3: The Will to Intervene

CBC Daybreak's Mike Finnerty will host the event. (CBC)

Where: Centaur Theatre, Montreal QC (453 Rue Saint-Francois-Xavier).

Tickets:  $30, students/seniors $5 discount

Phone: 514-288-3161

Website: Centaur Theatre Box Office


The CBC Massey Lectures is a partnership between CBC, House of Anansi Press and Massey College in the University of Toronto and named in honour of Vincent Massey,​ the first Canadian-born​ governor general of Canada. Since their creation in 1961 by the CBC,  the Massey Lectures have established their place as a Canadian institution and become an annual highlight of our cultural life. The five lectures provide a forum on radio where contemporary thinkers can explore ​important​ issues of our time. Former lecturers include Martin Luther King Jr., Margaret Atwood and Stephen Lewis. These days, the lecturers are all Canadian, and the series is recorded on a cross-Canada tour. The book of the Massey Lectures is published by House of Anansi Press.

In Search of a Better World is published by House of Anansi Press. The 2017 CBC Massey Lectures will be broadcast on IDEAS Nov. 6 - 10, 2017.