The Liberals' have taken their first seat in Quebec, in the riding of Gaspésie—Îles-de-la-Madeleine, where Diane Lebouthillier has been declared the victor.

With 130 of 219 polls reporting, Lebouthillier had 41 per cent of the vote, well ahead of the NDP incumbent, Philip Toone, with 29.6 per cent. The Bloc's Nicolas Roussy is trailing in third place, with 21.5 per cent of the vote.


Lebouthillier was the head of the regional municipality of Rocher-Percé.

This riding on the tip of the Gaspé coast was swept up in the Orange Wave in 2011, although it was a solid Bloc Québécois seat for the previous three terms.

The sprawling riding includes the regional county municipalities of La Haute-Gaspésie, La Côte-de-Gaspé, Le Rocher-Percé and Bonaventure, as well as the Magdalen Islands. The largest towns are Gaspé and Percé.

Many of the riding's residents work seasonally in the fishing and tourism industries, making employment insurance and job creation major issues for voters.