Longtime PC cabinet minister Ted Morton, an often controversial far-right conservative, lost his seat to a rookie Wildrose candidate in Monday's Alberta election.

Morton, an early frontrunner in the last two Progressive Conservative leadership races, lost his Chestermere–Rocky View riding to the Wildrose’s Bruce McAllister by 3,726 votes.

The former energy minister wasn’t the only high-profile Tory to lose his seat.

Ray Danyluk, a past transportation minister, lost to Wildrose candidate Shayne Saskiw in the electoral district of Lac La Biche–St. Paul by 385 votes.

In the riding of Livingstone–Macleod, the Wildrose’s Pat Stier pulled out a win against PC Evan Berger by just over 1,000 votes.

Alberta Tory Jack Hayden also lost his seat, being beaten by the Wildrose's Rick Strankman in the riding of Drumheller–Stettler by 829 votes.  


Cabinet Post Riding Result
Alison Redford Premier, President of Executive Council, Chair of Agenda and Priorities Calgary-Elbow Win
Doug Horner Deputy Premier, President of Treasury Board and Enterprise, Minister for Corporate Human Resources Spruce Grove-St. Albert Win
Dave Hancock Human Services, Government House Leader Edmonton-Whitemud Win
Ted Morton Energy Chestermere-Rocky View Loss
Verlyn Olson Justice and Attorney General, Deputy Government House Leader Wetaskiwin-Camrose Win
Fred Horne Health and Wellness Edmonton-Rutherford Win
Thomas Lukaszuk Education Edmonton-Castle Downs Win
Diana McQueen Environment and Water Drayton Valley-Devon Win
Jonathan Denis Solicitor General and Minister of Public Security, Deputy Government House Leader Calgary-Acadia Win
Cal Dallas Intergovernmental, International and Aboriginal Relations Red Deer-South Win
Evan Berger Agriculture and Rural Development Livingstone-MacLeod Loss
Frank Oberle Sustainable Resource Development Peace River Win
George VanderBurg Seniors Whitecourt-Ste. Anne Win
Ray Danyluk Transportation Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills Loss
Jeff Johnson Infrastructure Athabasca-Surgeon-Redwater Win
Doug Griffiths Municipal Affairs Battle River-Wainwright Win
Greg Weadick Advanced Education and Technology Lethbridge-West Win
Jack Hayden Tourism, Parks and Recreation Drumheller-Stettler Loss
Heather Klimchuk Culture and Community Services Edmonton-Glenora Win
Manmeet Bhullar Service Alberta Calgary-Greenway Win