Swan River

Swan River

Current MLA: Vacant.

Rosann Wowchuck, NDP, not seeking re-election.

Riding profile: Created in 1903 in what was then the northwestern corner of the province, Swan River shifted to the centre of the province when Manitoba's borders expanded significantly in 1912.

The riding is bordered to the north by The Pas, to the south by Dauphin-Roblin, to the east by Lake Winnipeg and to the west by the province of Saskatchewan. Lake Winnipegosis runs through the riding.

The community of Swan River is located in the riding's southwest corner. Other communities in the riding include Birch River, Ethelbert, Minitonas, Camperville and Winnipegosis. 

Voter turnout

  • 2007: 65.12 per cent
  • 2003: 60.17 per cent



Ron Kostyshyn, NDP

  • Farmer and reeve of the Rural Municipality of Mossey River.
  • Served on  the Association of Manitoba Municipalities, the Intermountain Conservation District and the Manitoba Conservation Commission.


Population: 19,355

Average family income: $51,089

Unemployment: 12.1 per cent

Dave Powell, PC Party

  • Born and raised in Swan River.
  • His parents, Bill and Marion Powell established Powell Motors, a GM dealership that he has owned and operated since 1957.
  • He and wife Tanya have children.


Reynold Cook, Liberal

  • Attended the University of Regina to obtain a certificate in social work with a focus on aboriginal issues.
  • Worked as a supervisor with Cree Nation Child and Family Services.
  • Was an education counselor with Sapotawayak School and an addictions counselor with the local community health centre.
  • Currently serving as an elected councillor with Sapotawayak Cree Nation where he lives.
  • He and wife, Flora, have five children.


Results from 2007 provincial election



Total votes

Percentage of votes cast

 Rosann Wowchuk




 Maxine Plesiuk

PC Party



 Niomi Spence-Pranteau





Political history

  • 2003: Rosann Wowchuk (NDP) defeated PC Jason Shaw by 2,478 votes.
  • 1999: Rosann Wowchuk (NDP) defeated PC Maxine Plesiuk by 1,449 votes.
  • 1995: Rosann Wowchuk (NDP) defeated PC Fred Betcher by 36 votes.
  • 1990: Rosann Wowchuk (NDP) defeated incumbent PC Parker Burrell by 233 votes.
  • 1988: Parker Burrell (PC) defeated incumbent NDP Len Harapiak by 669 votes.
  • 1986: Len Harapiak (NDP) defeated incumbent PC Doug Gourlay by 65 votes.
  • 1981: Doug Gourlay (PC) defeated NDP Len Harapiak by 269 votes.
  • 1977: Doug Gourlay (PC) defeated NDP Len Harapiak by 730 votes.
  • 1973, 1969, 1966, 1962: James Bilton (PC) elected.