Changes to Winnipeg Mayor Sam Katz's inner circle on city council are now official.

Earlier this month, Coun.Justin Swandel, who held the role of deputy mayor, announced he would leave the executive policy committee, calling the actions of some of his colleagues dysfunctional.

Katz replaced Swandel on EPC with Coun. Mike Pagtakhan, who also takes over as chair of downtown development, and the heritage and riverbank management committee.

As part of the shufflinf, Coun. Russ Wyatt takes over as deputy mayor as well as head of the finance committee.

Coun. Scott Fielding takes on the role as chair of the protection and community services committee from Coun. Paula Havixbeck, who has been made acting deputy mayor.

And Coun. Thomas Steen has been named deputy speaker.