CBC and Radio-Canada have won a national journalism award for their work uncovering the stories of missing and murdered indigenous women.

Missing and Murdered, an interactive database by CBC Aboriginal and CBC News, was named as one of three recipients of the Canadian Hillman Prize by the Sidney Hillman Foundation on Monday.

The award also honours Radio-Canada's Enquête program for its investigation into allegations of sexual abuse of aboriginal women by provincial police officers in Val-d'Or, Que., and to the Globe and Mail for "A Country's Crisis: Canada's Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women."

All three recipients are honoured for pieces "that brought to light critical new information on the subject of missing and murdered aboriginal women in Canada and contributed to the federal government's decision to call an inquiry into this tragedy," the foundation said on its website.

The Sidney Hillman Foundation has been honouring U.S. investigative journalists since 1950 and launched a Canadian prize in 2011.

This year's entries for the Canadian award were judged by journalists Bonnie Brown and Tony Burman and economist Armine Yalnizyan.

Honourable mentions were awarded to investigations by Toronto Life, the Toronto Star and The Walrus.

3rd award for MMIW database

The Canadian Hillman Prize is the third award for CBC's Missing & Murdered database, which tells the stories of more than 250 indigenous women whose unsolved cases go back more than 60 years.

After the interactive database was launched, new evidence was uncovered and the RCMP reopened at least two cold cases.

The project won a Canadian Screen Award earlier this month for best cross-platform project, non-fiction. In November it won a Digi Award, which honours top Canadian digital content, for best non-fiction interactive content.

The team that worked on the Missing & Murdered database includes:

  • Managing editor: Cecil Rosner.
  • Project manager: Cate Friesen.
  • Reporters: Connie Walker, Duncan McCue.
  • Design and development: William Wolfe-Wylie, Richard Grasley, Michael Leschart, Michael Pereira.
  • Researchers/writers: Tiar Wilson, Kimberly Ivany, Martha Troian, Chantelle Bellrichard, Joanne Levasseur, Teghan Beaudette.
  • Copy editors: Kristy Hoffman, Donna Lee.
  • Photo editor: Tara Lindemann.