Canadian rock legends Rush, including Hamilton's Neil Peart and bandmates Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson, have finally been tapped for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has officially announced its list of inductees for 2013. It includes Rush, Randy Newman, Public Enemy, Donna Summer, Heart and legendary blues guitarist Albert King. Summer and King will be inducted posthumously.

The induction ceremony will take place in Los Angeles on April 18, 2013.

Red Hot Chili Peppers' bassist Flea announced the list of new inductees on Tuesday at a press conference in L.A.

Quincy Jones and Lou Adler received nominations in the non-performer category.

Peart and the rest of Rush had long been overlooked for entry into the hall, but made the final cut for 2013.