Hamilton is among 11 communities across Ontario that could have its federal electoral ridings redrawn.

Current Hamilton federal ridings:

  • Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Westdale
  • Hamilton Centre
  • Hamilton East-Stoney Creek
  • Hamilton Mountain
  • Niagara West-Glanbrook

The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission of Ontario is holding public hearings this fall on a proposed new electoral map.

It could see 15 new federal ridings. The commission is also studying Brampton, Cambridge, Durham, Markham, Mississauga, Oakville, Ottawa, Simcoe, Toronto and York.

Ontario's population grew from 11.41 million in the 2001 census to 12.85 million in 2011.

Under the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act, the commission's main aim in redrawing boundaries is to divide the province into electoral districts as close to the average population as reasonably possible.

"Population shifts and increases, efforts to honour existing municipal boundaries whenever possible, and the establishment of 15 new electoral districts have required substantial adjustment to Ontario's electoral map," said Justice George Valin, chairman of the three-member commission.

The commission makes final decisions about where the electoral boundaries will be located after the public and MPs have had an opportunity to express their views.

Public hearings are scheduled to begin in Kenora on Oct. 9 and conclude in Toronto on Nov. 15.

Those wishing to make a presentation at a hearing are requested to send the commission written notice no later than Oct. 1.