Less than a year after helping choose a new federal government, Canadians in half the country’s provinces and territories will go back to the polls.

Within a five-week period this fall — and courtesy of the trend toward fixed election dates — voters in the Northwest TerritoriesPrince Edward IslandManitobaOntarioNewfoundland and Labrador and Saskatchewan will elect new provincial and territorial governments.

Voters in Yukon are expected to be doing the same thing, too.

Here’s a look at the election landscape in those provinces and territories.

Northwest Territories 

Election date: Oct. 3

Seats: 19

Current standings: Independent: 18, Vacant: 1

Percentage of seats held by women: 11.11

Political snapshot: Like Nunavut, the Northwest Territories has a unique political setup: the consensus model, with no political parties. Members are voted in to the legislative assembly as independents. Members elect the premier and cabinet ministers among themselves. Premier Floyd Roland announced in May that he would not seek re-election.

Prince Edward Island 

Election date – Oct. 3

Seats: 27

Current standings: Liberal 24, Progressive Conservative 2, Vacant 1

Percentage of seats held by women: 26.92

Political snapshot: Liberal Leader Robert Ghiz, who at age 37 is Canada’s youngest premier, has led his party since 2003. He’s looking for a second term after the Liberals turfed the Conservatives — now led by Olive Crane — in 2007. The New Democratic Party is led by James Rodd, and Sharon Labchuk is at the helm of the Green Party.


Election date – Oct. 4

Seats: 57

Current standings: NDP: 36, Progressive Conservative: 18, Liberal: 1, Vacant: 2

Percentage of seats occupied by women: 32.73

Political snapshot: NDP Leader Greg Selinger, who took the helm of the party and became premier in 2009, wants to lead the party to its fourth straight term in office. Hugh McFadyen leads the Progressive Conservatives, Jon Gerrard leads the Liberal Party and James Beddome is at the helm of the Green Party.


Election date – Oct. 6

Seats – 107

Current standings: Liberal 70, Progressive Conservative: 25, NDP: 10, Vacant 2

Percentage of seats occupied by women: 27.62

Political snapshot: Liberal Leader Dalton McGuinty is seeking his third term as premier and his third majority government, something that hasn’t been done since Conservative Premier Leslie Frost was re-elected in 1959. In this campaign, McGuinty faces new leaders of the Progressive Conservatives — Tim Hudak— and New Democrats — Andrea Horwath. Mike Shreiner leads the Green Party.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Election date – Oct. 11

Seats: 48

Current standings: Progressive Conservative 43, Liberal 4, NDP 1

Percentage of seats occupied by women: 18.75

Political snapshot: Kathy Dunderdale, who became premier in 2010 and Progressive Conservative party leader in 2011, is trying to guide the party to its third straight term in office. Kevin Aylward was appointed Liberal leader in August 2011, and Lorraine Michael is at the helm of the NDP.


Election date – Nov. 7

Seats: 58

Current standings: Saskatchewan Party 38, NDP: 20

Percentage of seats occupied by women: 22.41

Political snapshot: Saskatchewan Party Leader Brad Wall is looking for re-election as premier after he led his party over the governing New Democrats in 2007. Dwain Lingenfelter leads the NDP, and Ryan Bater is at the helm for the Liberals. Rick Swenson leads the Progressive Conservatives and Larissa Shasko leads the Green Party.


Election: Expected in 2011

Seats: 18

Current standings: Yukon Party: 11, Liberal Party: 5, NDP: 1, Vacant: 1

Percentage of seats occupied by women: 17.65

Political snapshot: Premier Darrell Pasloski, who took over that post earlier this year, is widely expected to call a territorial election this fall, before the Yukon Party's mandate expires in October. If re-elected, it would be the party’s third straight term. Arthur Mitchell leads the Liberal Party and Liz Hanson is at the helm of the New Democratic Party. Kristina Calhoun, who with Michael Ivens leads the Green Party, has been chosen as its first candidate to run in a Yukon election.