Edmonton Votes: Wards 9, 10, 11 and 12

While two incumbent city councillors have stepped down to compete in the mayoral race, two other long-term councillors are likely for re-election in Edmonton’s southern wards.
Edmonton Votes - Defining Edmonton (CBC)

While two incumbent city councillors stepped down to compete in the mayoral race, two other long-term councillors were re-elected in Edmonton’s southern wards.

You can find out more about each city ward here.

Bryan Anderson, Ward 9

Ward 9

Winner and long-term incumbent Bryan Anderson, first elected in 1998, swept ward 9 by a margin of almost 15,000 votes, cleanly beating first-time candidate Andrew Gorman.

Ward 10

Coun. Michael Walters, Ward 10, says some existing bike lanes need to be moved. (Provided)
With former councillor Don Iveson running for mayor, Ward 10 was guaranteed to see a new representative on council Monday night.

Community leader Michael Walters, who ran for the Alberta Party in the last provincial election, was tipped early on as the most likely to step into Iveson’s shoes.

Walters took an early lead, ultimately beating out competitor Richard Feehan by nearly 9,000 votes.

Ward 11

Mike Nickel, Ward 11
With former councillor Kerry Diotte stepping down to compete in the mayoral race, Ward 11 was forecasted be one of the most dynamic races to watch on election night.

In the end, ex-mayoral candidate and former city councillor Mike Nickel took the ward with more than a 5,000 vote lead on second-place contender Sonia Bitar.

In a surprise upset, Nickel was defeated in his 2007 re-election campaign by then-newcomer Don Iveson.

Fiscally conservative and priding himself as a dissenter on council, Nickel is likely to continue former councillor Diotte’s role on council.

Amarjeet Sohi, Ward 12

Ward 12

Former ETS driver and incumbent city councillor Amarjeet Sohi, first elected in 2007, took a clear and decisive lead as soon as early results came in, ultimately winning by more than 9,800 votes.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.