Dean Brody, Gord Bamford dominate country award nominations

Dean Brody and Gord Bamford will go head-to-head in five categories at this year's Canadian Country Music Association's Awards.

Calgary-bred newcomer, Bobby Wills, nominated for three awards including rising star

Dean Brody won an award for best album at the 2012 Canadian Country Music Awards in Saskatoon. (Liam Richards/The Canadian Press)

Dean Brody and Gord Bamford will go head-to-head in five categories at this year's Canadian Country Music Association's Awards.

Both are among five nominees for the fans' choice award, single of the year, songwriter of the year, CMT video of the year and male artist of the year.

Bamford is also nominated in the best album of the year category for Is it Friday yet?

Brody, who has five CCMA awards from the past two years, is nominated twice in the songwriter of the year category. His songs Bob Marley and It's Friday are both potential winners.

George Canyon, Terri Clark, Johnny Reid, Dallas Smith, Deric Ruttan and Bobby Wills also received multiple nominations.

The Calgary-bred Wills is not only nominated for rising star, but also best male artist and single of the year for Show Some Respect.

Nominees include:

Fans' choice: Gord Bamford, Dean Brody, George Canyon, Terri Clark, Johnny Reid.

Best single: It’s Friday, Dean Brody featuring Great Big Sea; Jumped Right In, Dallas Smith; Leaning On A Lonesome Song,  Gord Bamford; Main Street, 1979,  Deric Ruttan; Show Some Respect, Bobby Wills.

Best album: Classics II, George Canyon; Is It Friday Yet?, Gord Bamford; Jumped Right In, Dallas Smith; Roll, Emerson Drive; Small Town Pistols, Small Town Pistols.

Female artist: Terri Clark, Jaida Dreyer, Kira Isabella, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Michelle Wright.

Male artist: Gord Bamford, Dean Brody, Chad Brownlee, Dallas Smith, Bobby Wills.

Group/duo: Emerson Drive, Hey Romeo, High Valley, Small Town Pistols, The Stellas.

Roots artist/group: Clayton Bellamy, Shane Chisholm, The Heartbroken, Corb Lund, Lindi Ortega.

Rising star: Autumn Hill, Tim Hicks, MacKenzie Porter, Tebey, Bobby Wills.

In addition to the main awards, accolades will be handed out for industry, broadcast and instrumental stand-out performances.

The awards will be handed out Sept. 8 in Edmonton.