For the second time in three years, Rob Cote has been chosen by his teammates as the winner of the annual Calgary Stampeders' Presidents' Ring award. 

"Winning this award is just as meaningful the second time around," said Cote.

The Presidents' Ring award was established in 1967 by then-Stampeders president George McMahon and general manager Rogers Lehew and is presented to the Stampeders player who best demonstrates excellence on and off the field as voted by the players.

"I'm humbled that my teammates have honoured me with this selection because, believe me, I'm very aware of the fact that there are many players on this team who are deserving of this award."

Candidates are judged on their in-game contributions, leadership, inspiration and motivational skills. Cote will formally receive his ring at Fanfest in May.

'An excellent choice' says Stamps president


Head coach John Hufnagel calls fullback Rob Cote, right, one of the Stampeders' 'unsung heroes.' (Ian Jackson/Canadian Press)

In his ninth season with the Stampeders, Cote served as one of the offensive captains and started all 18 regular-season games as well as both playoff contests.

His blocking work has long been a key component of the Stampeders running game and in 2015 he helped pave the way for three different Calgary backs to record 100-yard games.

Cote has played a total of 147 regular-season games as well as 13 post-season contests with the Stampeders, and he was a contributor to the Stamps' Grey Cup victories in 2008 and 2014.

He has also been the Stamps' official spokesman for Hospice Calgary since 2009.

"Rob represents the Stampeders extremely well both on and off the field and is deserving recipient of this prestigious award," said Stampeders president Gordon Norrie.

"I congratulate the players for making such an excellent choice."

Hall-of-Famer Wayne Harris was the first winner of the Presidents' Ring and 31 different men have been presented with the award.

Henry Burris, Danny Barrett and Stu Laird won the award on three occasions while two-time winners are Cote, Keon Raymond, Jay McNeil, Alondra Johnson, Harris, Allen Pitts, Fairbanks, Bernie Morrison, Ed McAleney, James Sykes, Willie Burden and Jerry Keeling.