Wildrose Leader Danielle Smith made one of her first big decisions as Opposition leader Tuesday by naming her shadow cabinet.

Her 16 elected party members will take over a variety of portfolios.

Smith will be responsible for International, Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Relations, Cities and executive council.

Heather Forsyth will take over the Health portfolio.

Forsyth crossed the floor from the Progressive Conservatives in 2010, and recently won her riding in Calgary-Fish Creek for the Wildrose party by a slim margin.

Fellow floor-crosser Rob Anderson was also named to the shadow cabinet; he will take over the portfolio of house leader and Finance.

The list of the full Opposition critic roster is below.

  • Danielle Smith, Highwood

Leader, International, Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Relations, Cities (Calgary and Edmonton), executive council

  • Kerry Towle, Innisfail-Sylvan Lake

Caucus whip, Seniors

  • Bruce McAllister, Chestermere-Rocky View

Deputy whip, Education

  • Rob Anderson, Airdrie

House leader, Finance and Treasury Board

  • Shayne Saskiw, Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills

Justice, Deputy house leader, solicitor general

  • Heather Forsyth, Calgary-Fish Creek


  • Jason Hale, Strathmore-Brooks


  • Joe Anglin, Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre

Environment, Water and Utilities

  • Drew Barnes, Cypress-Medicine Hat

Infrastructure and Transportation

  • Gary Bikman, Cardston-Taber-Warner

Advanced Education

  • Ian Donovan, Little Bow

Agriculture and Rural Development

  • Rod Fox, Lacombe-Ponoka

Service Alberta

  • Blake Pedersen

Medicine Hat Arts, Culture and Community Services

  • Bruce Rowe, Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills

Municipal Affairs

  • Pat Stier, Livingstone-Macleod

Sustainable Resource Development

  • Rick Strankman, Drumheller-Stettler

Tourism, Parks and Recreation

  • Jeff Wilson, Calgary-Shaw

Human Services