Conservatives win Calgary

Election night didn't bring any surprises for Calgary voters, who again chose Conservative candidates for all eight ridings in the city.

Election night didn't bring any surprises for Calgary voters, who again chose Conservative candidates for all eight ridings in the city.

Conservative Leader Stephen Harper easily won his Calgary Southwest seat, which he has held since 2004, with 71 per cent of the vote.

In Calgary-Nose Hill, voters again picked Diane Ablonczy, handing her 68 per cent of the vote. She had won the past five elections under the banners of the Reform, Canadian Alliance and Conservative parties.

"We’re very pleased with the very solid, very strong mandate that we’ve received tonight. And I think you’ll see a Parliament that works much better going forward because the people have spoken. We now have a new mandate," Ablonczy told CBC News.

Jim Prentice also held on to his seat in Calgary Centre-North, capturing 55 per cent of the vote. Prentice first took the riding from Liberal Cathy McCluskey in 2004.

In Calgary East, 67 per cent of voters chose Deepak Obhrai. He has held on to his seat since first gaining office as a Reform party candidate in 1997.

Kenney tramples opposition

Jason Kenney again trampled his opponents in Calgary Southeast, taking 71 per cent of the vote.

"Every other incumbent government in the Western world is in serious political trouble with the economic situation," said Kenney on Tuesday night. "Ours is probably the only one that could be re-elected – let alone with an increased mandate."

In the previous four elections, Kenney has had easy wins with the Reform, Canadian Alliance and Conservative parties.

With 56 per cent of the vote in Calgary West, Rob Anders kept his seat, which he has held since first winning it as a Reform party candidate in 1997. Anders was hampered early in the campaign by a cast on his left arm, which he said didn't keep him from door knocking.

Lee Richardson held on to Calgary Centre, despite controversy during the campaign over comments he had made linking crime to immigrants, who make up almost 24 per cent of the riding's residents. Richardson captured 50 per cent of the vote.

Richardson's political history dates back to 1988, when he was elected in Calgary Southeast as a Progressive Conservative. Defeated in 1993, he was elected in Calgary South Centre in 2004 and 2006.

Shory elected in Northeast

Calgary Northeast was the only riding in the city without an incumbent and was painted as the riding to watch in Calgary by at least one analyst. But new Conservative candidate Devinder Shory still managed to secure the seat with 56 per cent of the vote.

Shory said he was never worried about his chances.

"I've run a hardworking, honest campaign," he said.

The race was a bitter one, with the Liberal and Conservative camps accusing each other of destroying campaign signs, and the federal Conservative party winning a court battle against independent Roger Richard, whose campaign material was deemed too similar to the federal party's.

The race in Calgary Northeast wasn't even close — Liberal Sanam Kang captured only 18 per cent of the vote, while Richard got 14 per cent.

In most ridings, the Liberal candidate placed a distant second, but in Calgary Southeast voters put a Green party candidate in second place and in two ridings – Calgary Centre-North and Calgary East – an NDP candidate placed second.

New faces in Wild Rose, Medicine Hat

Conservatives were elected in 27 of Alberta's 28 seats, losing Edmonton Strathcona to NDP candidate Linda Duncan.

In the rural ridings in southern Alberta, incumbent Ted Menzies kept his grip on Macleod, which he has held since 2004.

Incumbent Kevin Sorenson was elected in Crowfoot and incumbent Rick Casson won in Lethbridge.

Voters chose new Conservative Blake Richards to replace outgoing Tory MP Myron Thompson in Wild Rose, where Thompson had won five elections. New face LaVar Payne also won in Medicine Hat, Monte Solberg's former riding.

During the 2006 federal election, Conservative candidates took all the seats in the province, capturing 65 per cent of the Alberta popular vote.

With files from Canadian Press