Three educators from Calgary are among the 20 Albertans honoured with Excellence in Teaching Awards this year.

The winners were nominated by students, parents, colleagues and communities for demonstrating leadership, innovation, creativity and effective teaching practices. They were presented with the award Saturday night in Calgary.

"The dedication of our teachers and principals has allowed Alberta's students to be among the best in the world," said Jeff Johnson, Alberta's education minister. "We thank them for giving students their best each and every day."

Calgary's winners were Lisa Armstrong of Dr. J. K. Mulloy School, Tania Brown of G.W. Skene School and Heather McKay of Andrew Sibbald School.

Each received a certificate and pin and will have access to $4,000 for professional development.

More than 500 Alberta educators have been recognized with Excellence in Teaching Awards over the past 26 years.