One Gay City: A History of LGBT Life in Winnipeg

An eye-opening and emotional history of Winnipeg’s LGBT community. Aired nationally on Saturday, June 4th, 2016 on CBC TV. Also available online.

From a deeply closeted culture to a more open and out society.

One Gay City: A History of LGBT Life in Winnipeg - trailer - 1:32

An eye-opening and emotional history of Winnipeg's LGBT community through personal stories, news reports, and rarely seen archival images and recordings.

From a deeply closeted culture to a more open and out society, Aaron Floresco's "One Gay City: A History of LGBT Life in Winnipeg" explores prominent moments in Winnipeg history including the first attempt of a gay couple to legally marry in Canada in 1974, a bitter struggle at the Manitoba Legislature in 1987 for human rights, electing North America's first openly gay mayor in 1998, and many other powerful stories. The film provides a fascinating window into a little-known facet of our community's history.

Aired nationally on Saturday, June 4th, 2016 on CBC TV.
2:30 pm NT | 2 pm AT | 1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT

One Gay City: A History of LGBT Life in Winnipeg - full doc - 45:10

Comments

To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.