Roger Ebert was named Webby Person of the Year for raising 'the bar for the level of poignancy, thoughtfulness and critique one can achieve on the web,' organizers said. ((Evan Agostini/Associated Press))

Movie critic Roger Ebert, social networking application Twitter, the New York Times and the Muppets' cover of Bohemian Rhapsody have landed in the winners circle for the 14th edition of the Webby Awards.

Organized by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, the annual prize celebrates the top internet achievements of the past year in myriad categories.

Ebert, among four special achievement award winners this year, was named Webby Person of the Year.

After losing his ability to speak following several bouts of cancer surgery, the high-profile critic has focused his energy on his print and online output.

"In addition to his film criticism, which remains as eloquent as ever, his online journal has raised the bar for the level of poignancy, thoughtfulness and critique one can achieve on the web," organizers said in their citation, which praised Ebert's insight on a variety of topics as well as "his unparalleled level of engagement with followers and fans."

Other special award-recipients for 2010 include: internet pioneer Vinton Cerf (lifetime achievement), performer Amy Poehler (best actress) and web video-saavy indie rockers OK Go (artist of the year).

Regular awards are split into four divisions — website, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile — with a variety of categories included in each.

For each category, the academy selects one winner, with a second selected via public voting (People's Voice).

The top recipients this year — taking five categories each — are the College Humor and the New York Times.

Canadians who made the winners list include:


Canadian actor Jim Carrey's official website won both the Webby and the fan-voted prize. ((Joel Ryan/Associated Press))

  • Celebrity/fan website: Actor Jim Carrey (Webby and People's Voice Award).
  • Blog, cultural: Torontonian Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things, (People's Voice Award).
  • Movie and film: Canadian co-production District 9 (People's Voice Award).
  • Documentary, individual episode: National Film Board of Canada's, (Webby Award).
  • Activism website: Renew the world - Stem Cell Foundation of Canada, Manifest Communications (People's Voice Award).
  • Green website: Love Letters to the Future, Xenophile Media (Webby and People's Voice Award).
  • Best use of animation or motion graphics: Ontario soda company The Pop Shoppe, AmoebaCorp (Webby Award).

Other notable Webby winners include:

  • Viral video: Bohemian Rhapsody, the Muppets.
  • Mash-up or remix: Auto-tune the News,
  • Humour:
  • TV website:
  • Documentary series: Interview Project, David Lynch.
  • Comedy series: Web Therapy, Lisa Kudrow.
  • Individual performance: Green Porno, Isabella Rossellini.
  • Social networking: Twitter.
  • Mobile social networking: Foursquare.
  • Broadband: Hulu.

Social networking application Twitter added another Webby to its wins.

Aside from the Times, several other traditional media outlets earned kudos for their online endeavours, including NPR (People's Voice winner for best practices and radio/podcasts), the New Yorker magazine (Webby winner for copy/writing and magazine site) and The Associated Press (People's Voice winner for events and live webcasts for coverage of U.S. President Barack Obama's inauguration).

A complete list of winners can be found on the Webby Awards website.

This year's winners will be honoured at a ceremony in New York on June 14. The ceremony is best known for allowing winners to give acceptance speeches capped at five words.

With files from The Associated Press