Arcade Fire, Drake, Owen Pallett and 38 other Canadian artists will find out if they've made the cut today when the 2014 Polaris Music Prize shortlist is released in Toronto.

The 40-album longlist came out last month pitting commercial successes, like Drake's Nothing Was The Same and Arcade Fire's Reflektor against indie offerings like Rae Spoon's My Prairie Home and Odonis OdonisHard Boiled Soft Boiled.

Here's the full longlist of this year's potential Polaris winners, chosen solely on artistic merit:

  • Arcade Fire, Reflektor
  • AroarA, In The Pines
  • Austra, Olympia
  • Basia Bulat, Tall Tall Shadow
  • Bry Webb, Free Will
  • Chad VanGaalen, Shrink Dust
  • Chromeo, White Woman
  • Cousins, The Halls of Wickwire
  • Cowboy Junkies/Various Artists, The Kennedy Suite
  • Dead Obies, Montréal Sud
  • DIANA, Perpetual Surrender
  • Drake, Nothing Was the Same
  • Freedom Writers, Now
  • Fresh Snow, I
  • Frog Eyes, Carey's Cold Spring
  • Gorguts, Colored Sands
  • Greg MacPherson, Fireball
  • Jessy Lanza, Pull My Hair Back
  • Jimmy Hunt, Maladie d'amour
  • Kalle Mattson, Someday, The Moon Will Be Gold
  • Mac DeMarco, Salad Days
  • Moonface, Julia With Blue Jeans On
  • Mounties, Thrash Rock Legacy
  • Odonis Odonis, Hard Boiled Soft Boiled
  • Owen Pallett, In Conflict
  • Philippe B, Ornithologie, la nuit
  • Pink Mountaintops, Get Back
  • PUP, PUP
  • Rae Spoon, My Prairie Home
  • Shad, Flying Colours
  • Shooting Guns, Brotherhood of the Ram
  • Solids, Blame Confusion
  • Tanya Tagaq, Animism
  • The Darcys, Warring
  • The Sadies, Internal Sounds
  • The Strumbellas, We Still Move On Dance Floors
  • Thus Owls, Turning Rocks
  • Tim Hecker, Virgins
  • Timber Timbre, Hot Dreams

The nation-wide jury of journalists and industry experts will slash this list two more times with the $30,000 prize handed out in a gala in Toronto on September 22.

Past winners have included Feist, Patrick Watson and Godspeed You! Black Emperor.