CBC personalities Rick Mercer and Eleanor Wachtel, filmmaker and actress Sarah Polley, chef Normand Laprise and singer-songwriters Chantal Kreviazuk and Raine Maida are the latest Canadians honoured with the Order of Canada.

Gov. Gen. David Johnston presided over an investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall on Wednesday morning. Watch the video above for highlights of the ceremony.

Other notable figures who received the honour include:

  • Tim Cook, historian.
  • Peter Milliken, retired MP and longest-serving Speaker of the House of Commons.
  • Wally Buono, CFL icon.
  • Alex Pauk, composer.
  • Gary Slaight, broadcasting executive.
  • Eric Walters, children's book author.

The Order of Canada, one of the country's highest civilian honours, was established in 1967 to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

Over the last 45 years, more than 6,000 people from all walks of life have been invested into the order.

With files from The Canadian Press