Chart-topping acts Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga, viral sensations Psy and Canadian band Walk Off the Earth and rising stars such as Kendrick Lamar are among the nominees for the inaugural YouTube Music Awards.

Organizers have unveiled a slate of contenders that range from today's highest profile music stars to regular folks who have created videos that have delight online audiences around the globe.

Fans can cast their vote in six categories, with the winners to be honoured during a web-streamed live ceremony from New York's Pier 26 on Nov. 3.

The nominees are:

Video of the Year (videos with most fan engagement)

  • Miley Cyrus, We Can’t Stop.
  • Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj), Beauty and a Beat.
  • Psy, Gentleman.
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert), Same Love.
  • Girls’ Generation, I Got A Boy.
  • Demi Lovato, Heart Attack.
  • Selena Gomez, Come & Get It.
  • Epic Rap Battles Of History, Barack Obama vs. Mitt Romney.

Artist of the Year (most watched, shared, liked and subscribed to)

  • Eminem.
  • Epic Rap Battles of History.
  • Justin Bieber.
  • Katy Perry.
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.
  • Nicki Minaj.
  • One Direction.
  • Psy.
  • Rihanna.
  • Taylor Swift.

Response of the Year (best fan remix, parody or response)

  • Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony), Mirrors.
  • Jayesslee, Gangnam Style.
  • Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, Radioactive.
  • ThePianoGuys, Titanium/Pavane.
  • Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX), I Knew You Were Trouble.

YouTube Phenomenon (inspired the most fan videos)

  • Diamonds.
  • Gangnam Style.
  • Harlem Shake.
  • I Knew You Were Trouble.
  • Thrift Shop.

YouTube Breakthrough (biggest growth in views and subscribers)

  • Kendrick Lamar.
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.
  • Naughty Boy.
  • Passenger.
  • Rudimental.

Innovation of the Year (creative videos with the most views, likes, shares and comments)

  • Anamanaguchi, Endless Fantasy.
  • Atoms For Peace, Ingenue.
  • Bat For Lashes, Lilies.
  • DeStorm, See Me Standing.
  • Toro Y Moi, Say That.

Joining previously announced performers Arcade Fire, Lady Gaga and Eminem will be Avicii, M.I.A., Earl Sweatshirt, Tyler the Creator and Walk Off the Earth.

Prior to the awards show, which will be hosted by actor Jason Schwartzman and comedian Reggie Watts, organizers will stream musical events held in five world capitals (Seoul, Tokyo, Moscow, London and Rio) beginning at 5 a.m. ET