Lynn Coady's Hellgoing, Lisa Moore's Caught and Cary Fagan's A Bird's Eye are among the finalists for the Rogers' Writers Trust Fiction Prize.

Organizers announced the annual literary honour's five finalists at Ben McNally Books in Toronto today. The $25,000 fiction prize is awarded to the year's best novel or short story collection.

Writer and prize juror Alison Pick described this year’s crop of finalists as being thematically diverse.

“There's a book of short stories, there's a very slim, almost fable-like novel, there's a novel that has chimpanzees as one of the narrators. It's really a wide range, but the unifying theme is just the stellar quality,” she told CBC News on Monday morning.

Miranda Hill, past winner and a 2013 juror of the Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, announced the finalists for that award. The $10,000 Journey Prize, which marks its 25th anniversary this year, goes to the best short story by a new or developing writer first published in a Canadian literary journal.

"These awards recognize our world-class Canadian talent, giving the finalists affirmation from a jury of their peers, and bringing their work to the attention of readers from across the country," Mary Osborne, executive director of the Writers' Trust of Canada, said in a statement.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize are:

  • Krista Bridge, The Eliot Girls (Douglas & McIntyre)
  • Lynn Coady, Hellgoing (House of Anansi Press)
  • Cary Fagan, A Bird's Eye (House of Anansi Press)
  • Colin McAdam, A Beautiful Truth (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
  • Lisa Moore, Caught (House of Anansi Press)

St. John's-based Moore and Edmonton author Coady are also nominated for this year's $50,000 Giller Prize.

Laura Repas, publicity director for House of Anasi Press, said that having three of their authors nominated is significant.

“I think it means more attention for us as a [publishing] house. It means more talk around books, more attention for the writers, which is great for them," Repas said.

Finalists for the Writers' Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize are:

  • Doretta Lau, How Does a Single Blade of Grass Thank the Sun? (Event)
  • Eliza Robertson, My Sister Sang (Grain)
  • Naben Ruthnum, Cinema Rex (The Malahat Review)

The winners of both prizes will be announced at an gala in Toronto on Nov. 20. Both prizes, along with four other Writers' Trust awards to be presented that night, will amount to $114,000 in prize money for authors.