Halifax-based comedy troupe Picnicface was the big winner at the Canadian Comedy Awards in Toronto on Sunday, taking home six awards for both its TV show and its movie, Roller Town.

The group's Comedy Network TV series Picnicface won awards for best TV show and best writing for TV. The eight-member troupe was also named best ensemble.

Picnicface's big screen debut Roller Town, a parody of '70s roller skate movies like Roller Boogie and Skatetown, was named funniest film and also earned awards for best film writing and direction. Roller Town stars Mark Little as a skate sensation who must save the neighbourhood roller rink from gangsters and the scourge of video games. Andrew Bush directed the production.

CBC Radio's sketch comedy show This is That won best radio program, while Bob Martin was named best male lead on TV for starring in the now-cancelled CBC-TV comedy Michael:Tuesdays & Thursdays. 

The title of comedy person of the year went to Nikki Payne, the Nova Scotia stand-up comedian who also appeared on Canadian sketch comedy show Comedy Inc. The award is based on nominations and votes from fans.

Improv star Colin Mochrie, who appeared on TV programs such as She’s the Mayor and Almost Heroes, won the Dave Broadfoot Award, created by the Royal Canadian Air Farce to celebrate comic genius.

Calgary comic troupe Blind Date won the award for best comedic review, while Blind Date member Rebecca Northan won for best female improvisor.

Other winners included:

  • Best male standup: Ron Sparks.
  • Bst female standup: Kristeen von Hagen.
  • Best sketch troupe: Falcon Powder.
  • Best improv troupe: The Sunday Service.
  • Best TV director: Mark McKinney for Less Than Kind.
  • Best film performance, male: Gavin Crawford, French Immersion.
  • Best film performance, female: Jocelyne Zucco, Funkytown.