Dean Brody, Tim Hicks, Dallas Smith, and special guests Little Big Town will perform at the 2014 CCMA Awards.

They're just the first batch of performers to be announced by the Canadian Country Music Association.

The association's marquee event takes place in Edmonton on Sept. 7 with the awards broadcast on CBC Television at 8:00 p.m. (8:30 NT).

Dean Brody, the reigning CCMA male artist of the year, is nominated for six awards including album of the year for his record Crop Circles

Tim Hicks

2014 Rising Star nominee Tim Hicks will play the 2014 CCMA Awards Sept. 7. (Facebook/Tim Hicks)

He'll be up against fellow performers Dallas Smith and Tim Hicks in that category for their respective records Tippin' Point EP and Throw Down.

The Grammy award-winning American country group Little Big Town will be one of two international acts to take the stage. Its hotly-anticipated sixth studio album Pain Killer is due out this fall.

CBC funnyman Rick Mercer and Canadian singer-songwriter Jann Arden will share hosting duties.

For tickets or more information on this year's show, go to the CCMA website: