Toronto’s Hot Docs has selected two Canadian documentaries to be screened  nationwide in Cineplex cinemas, programming both the films and a Q&A with the directors at the same time they are featured at the festival.

China Heavyweight, by Montreal’s Yung Chang, is scheduled for Wednesday at 9 p.m. ET,  8:00 pm CT, 7:00 pm MT and 6:00 pm PT. It will have its commercial release later this spring.

Chang has already made his mark with his 2007 film Up the Yangtze, which earned Genie and Golden Horse Awards for best documentary.

China Heavyweight, which debuted at the Sundance Film Festival earlier this year, is about state athletic coaches who scour the countryside looking for rural teenagers who can throw a punch. They are then groomed for the Olympics in a sport which China once rejected as capitalist and reactionary.

Chang talked to CBC’s Anna Asimakopulos about making China Heavyweight and how boxing is a way for Chinese youth to carve a new path through life.