CBC Radio's 'The Wire,' hosted by Jowi Taylor, has won a 2006 Peabody Award. The international prize honours excellence in broadcasting. ((CBC))

Productions from CBC Radio and Radio-Canada are among the winners of this year's international Peabody broadcasting honours, announced Wednesday.

CBC Radio's eight-part documentary/music show The Wire: The Impact of Electricity on Music won a George Foster Peabody Award.

The honour, which recognizes excellence in news and entertainment, was also given to a Radio-Canada radio report on the Inuit and global warming entitled What if Winter Never Comes?  

Judges at the University of Georgia, which administers the awards, recognized coverage of Hurricane Katrina, singling out stations WWL-TV in New Orleans and WLOX-TV in Biloxi, Miss. Both stayed open and continued broadcasting throughout the storm and its aftermath.

NBC's Brian Williams and CNN were recognized for their Katrina reporting as well.

Several hit entertainment programs won Peabody acclaim, including House, the Fox medical drama about a brilliant but cantankerous doctor, ABC legal comedy-drama Boston Legal and PBS's American Masters: No Direction Home, the Martin Scorsese-directed program about folk music icon Bob Dylan.

Other popular shows became first-time Peabody winners, including the boundary-pushing animated satire South Park, police drama The Shield and dystopic space series Battlestar Galactica.

The BBC won four awards, including one for its acclaimed dramatization of Dickens's Bleak House.  HBO, another multiple winner, was cited for its documentary about the aftermath of the Beslan school siege in 2004 and two other productions.

The University of Georgia's Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications has administered the Peabody Awards since 1940. The prize is touted by organizers as "the oldest honour in electronic media."

The Peabody Awards will be handed out June 5 in New York at a ceremony hosted by Jon Stewart, anchor of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, a two-time Peabody winner.