Toronto writer Terri Favro is a CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize finalist for her story, Icarus. (Canada Writes)

Five English-language finalists have been chosen in CBC’s Canada Writes competition for creative nonfiction.

The finalists were selected from approximately 2,700 entries submitted from across the country. They are:

  • Terri Favro of Toronto for Icarus.
  • Matthew Hooton of Victoria for This Tongue.
  • Jenny Manzer of Victoria for The Boy with the Galloping Heart.
  • Linda Rosenbaum of Toronto for Wolf Howling at Moon.
  • Mohan Srivastava of Toronto for The Gods of Scrabble.

Their stories can be read on the Canada Writes website: www.cbc.ca/canadawrites

The grand prizewinner, to be announced on July 22, wins $6,000 and a writing residency at the Banff Centre for the Arts.

The jury for this year’s CBC Creative Nonfiction Prize includes authors J.J. Lee, Ross King and Jan Wong.